Avoiding Distractions

I have a folder on the home screen of my phone that is called Social Media.  Sometimes, I think a better label might be “Time Wasters”, “Pointless Distractions”, or “Anger Inducers”.  This harmless little folder holds my access points to Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.  I am doing my best to not open this folder for a while.

It’s already been almost 48 hours since I last allowed myself to get sucked in to the great black-hole that is commonly referred to as social media.  While I am not exactly on a fast, I have decided that the cons far out-weigh the pros for the time being when it comes to accessing these little apps.

I came to the realization a couple of days ago that I spend way too much time scrolling through every one else’s lives…seeing what you are doing while I am doing nothing but wasting time.  And I also discovered that many times I am at best frustrated or annoyed, and oftentimes actually angry when I close it down, usually over some post, or meme, or comment.

I think that we as a society have become very passive-aggressive.  It is rare that I walk away from an actual face-to-face conversation with a real live human and feel anger towards them.  I can’t remember the last time that I “unfriended” someone after a face-to-face conversation, probably because we weren’t really friends to begin with, and we both knew it.  However on social media, we find the courage to scream things that most of us never say to another person.  And we then walk away from our “friends” who disagree with our rants.

I don’t know how long this is going to last, but the last two days have been quite peaceful.  Scrolling through the internet isn’t quiet.  It isn’t relaxing.  It’s wave after wave of distractions.  Noise.  We think that we are just “vegging”, but that is the big con. We are being stimulated and influenced the whole time.  And real down-time that we are craving is not to be found online.

So if you need me, give me a call, or stop by the house.  I love company and will be happy to see you.

Now back to my book…

Leave a Reply

