Abundant Life

John 10:10 is one of the most precious promises that Jesus made to Believers.  He said that He came to give us abundant life!  Oftentimes I look at my circumstances and the world around me and think that this must be a promise that He plans to fulfill in eternity, but that is not what the passage says.  Jesus said that the thief comes to steal, kill, and destroy (which he his obviously already doing) but that Christ came to give life (which he is already doing as well).

The ESV Study Bible says this in its notes on this verse:

Jesus calls his followers, not to a dour, lifeless, miserable existence that squashes human potential, but to a rich, full, joyful life, one overflowing with meaningful activities under the personal favor and blessing of God and in continual fellowship with his people.

This is my desire for my own life.

  1. To have it overflowing with meaningful activities.
  2. To live under the personal favor and blessing of God.
  3. To stay in continual fellowship with his people.

Where I struggle is in believing that I am already there.  I don’t have to strive to have this life at some future point.  What I have to do is have the mind of Christ, so that I walk daily in the awareness of his plans and purposes, so that I can see the meaning, favor, blessing, and fellowship that is already present in my everyday activities.  Even the ones that feel meaningless and without purpose.

Don’t get me wrong.  I do believe that God has a higher purpose and calling on each of our lives.  He wants us to rise above our present commission, but the road that leads to that higher place is before us today.

We only have to take the first step down the path.

Leave a Reply

