Stress Response

How do you respond when the everyday stresses of life reveal places of brokenness within you?  Let me give you an example…

I am currently in the process of training for the Publix Georgia Marathon.  I am right now about 3 weeks out from the race.  The first 10-12 weeks of my training were great.  I was getting in all of my runs; I was hitting or beating all of my paces…it was awesome.  But a couple of weeks ago, as my weekly mileage increased and my paces gradually worked down towards my goal pace, something unexpected happened:  Plantar Fasciitis.

I have dealt with it off and on in the past, but I had taken a few weeks off and thought that it was dealt with.  Sadly, I was wrong.  It was back, and while it’s not quite as bad as it has been, it definitely is there and is forcing me to rethink my strategy.

So I ask again, how do you respond when the everyday stresses of life reveal places of brokenness within you?

I see three possible responses:

  1.  You can avoid the thing that is causing the stress.  This is what I tried to do.  Since the running was causing the PF to hurt, I avoided running.  While this strategy did work to alleviate the pain that I was feeling, it did not strengthen the area and allow it to heal.  Pain avoidance is natural, but it doesn’t lead to healing.
  2. You can push through the pain.  Sure, keep running the longer and harder miles.  You might be ok, or you might make it worse.  And you may destroy much more than your foot in the process.  You might be able to reach your goal, but you will cause more damage and either delay healing, or make healing impossible in the process.
  3. You can spend some time dealing with the brokenness and actually allow the wounded place to heal.  This obviously means some things are going to change in the short-term (lowered expectations) but in the long-term, you can expect to gain these back and more.

In my case, I have decided that healing is necessary.  More clearly stated, healing isn’t a decision as much as it is simply agreeing with reality.  I have stopped running altogether and begun to do some no-impact cardio on my skier.  I am also spending some time everyday strength training and stretching to put small amounts of stress on the area.  Stressing the area just a little and then removing the stress is helping it to become stronger and heal, not just stop hurting for a moment.

One thing that I have found to be true in life is this:  What is true for the body, is also true for the soul.  We find inner healing as well, not from avoiding pain or pushing through and ignoring consequences, but by intentionally focusing on places of hurt and allowing them to heal.

Leave a Reply

