Let Hope In (Read This Book)

Pete Wilson’s latest book, Let Hope In : 4 Choices That Will Change Your Life Forever makes a bold claim: 4 choices that can change your life FOREVER.  Having just finished it, I can honestly say “believe the hype!”  This is a remarkable little book, filled with truth and hope and the grace that God freely offers us, presented in a way that will benefit even the most hopeless of cynics and anxiety-ridden performance-driven Christians.

Pete Wilson, who is the Senior Pastor of Cross Point Church in Nashville, Tennessee, has written a book that you will highlight and underline throughout, and if you will let it, might just truly change your life forever.

I have struggled with anxiety for much of life.  This anxiety about what COULD go wrong, coupled with believing that my life circumstances were some sort of cosmic retribution for crimes that I wasn’t aware of (basically, I believed that God just didn’t like me very much) led to many moments of sheer terror.

I remember as a child, struggling for months to go to sleep at night because my throat would feel like it was closing up and I feared that I would die in my sleep.  Most mornings  now I wake up well before my alarm goes off and my mind immediately begins racing with thoughts of everything that will go wrong today if I don’t get up and get to work NOW!  I oftentimes pace our house, looking for something to do, someone to please, because I have never really learned how to relax.  Me and anxiety go way back.

But this book offers Hope.  Through stories from scripture, counseling experiences, and gentle reminders of truth, Pastor Wilson leads the reader down a path that can be truly transformational.

So why do I believe that this book is life-changing?  When I awoke at 5am this morning, my first thought was that our a/c unit outside was making a weird noise and that it had probably frozen up and the compressor was destroyed and we would have to replace it and where are we going to get the money for that? All of this passed thru my head in about a tenth of a second before I yanked off the covers and jumped out of bed.  I was concerned about the unit last night with all of the ice that we had around Atlanta yesterday and my anxious mind picked up right where it had left off the day before.

But this time, as I peered out the window and was amazed by the beauty of the the 3 inches of fresh snow that had fallen overnight, my mind drifted back to words that I had read last night:  Your fear comes from not trusting that God can take care of you.  As I thought that, my mind and body relaxed.  I thanked God for his provision. And went back to sleep.

Read this book. It will bless you.

2 thoughts on “Let Hope In (Read This Book)

  1. Wow Doug, this was great! You and I have more in common than we know, anxiety, fear of what I KNOW will go wrong only to watch my Savior win the day, in spite of me. Bless you my brother, love you.

    Alan

Leave a Reply

