Book Review: Dark Halo

This book was so much more than I expected.  I received a review copy of this book from Booksneeze.  The cover of the book and the synopsis sounded interesting, and although I had not read the first two books in the series, I decided to give it try.  I am really glad that I did.

I think that the author did a great job of bringing some very deep theological themes into a very easily read book.  The main character has the ability to literally see the spiritual world around us (angels, demons, pain, fear, etc…) The author uses this ability to show that while being able to see allows us to not utilize so much faith, it does overwhelm us with worry.  One of my favorite lines in the book is when Brielle says that sometimes being able to see is harder than just having faith.

Another character in the book has the ability to physically heal, but not emotionally or spiritually heal.  It also creates some great discussion about our focus on the physical but our real need to see the spiritual and emotional needs.

As I said, I did not read the first two books in the series.  The author does a great job of catching readers up at the beginning of the book, so that she didn’t need to constantly rehash things that had previously been written.  For this I say thank you.  Having to reread material over and over to bring readers up to speed is a pet peeve of mine.

If I had to be critical of the book, I did find that the “voice” of the characters did not change very much.  Although each chapter had us moving from character to character, the language used left me feeling like they were all the same person.

Also, there were quite a few plot points towards the end of the book that I felt were unnecessary and it seemed like very little detail was given.  It made the ending of the book too complicated.  Again, I didn’t read the first two. If I had, these points might have been better received.

All in all, this was a very enjoyable read that challenged me to think about my own faith and hope.  I would definitely recommend it.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Dark Halo

  1. Hi Doug,
    I like your reviews. Sometimes they will entice me to read something I typically wouldn’t. I just learned today that my memoir, Twenty-four Years to Boston, was listed on Amazon for pre-order. If you are interested, I can ship you a free book if you are willing to write a review. Just let me know. You can read chapter summaries on my blog at Rite2Run the Chapter Summaries link. The Amazon link is at This is the Amazon link http://www.amazon.com/Twenty-four-Years-Boston-Vegetable-Boylston/dp/1937943135/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1380134317&sr=1-1&keywords=twenty-four+years+to+boston
    And even if you are not interested, I’d appreciate you spreading the word. I’ll be blogging about it in a day or two. Thanks!
    jim

  2. Jim,
    I hope that you are doing well. I apologize for my late response. Almost 3 months. That’s a tad ridiculous. Anyway, I have changed jobs recently and my work requirements drove me away from a few things for a while. I hope that the book launch is going well. I did see that you had only 5 star reviews on Amazon. Congrats on that! If you still need additional reviewers, let me know and I would be happy to review a copy for you.
    Merry Christmas.
    Doug

Leave a Reply

