Good Intentions and Regrets

The question is not what we intended ourselves to be, but what He intended us to be when He made us. C. S. Lewis

This quote came across my Twitter feed earlier this week.  I must confess that I spent an entire 4 mile run meditating on it.  This one really hits home for me.

I have a tendency to constantly look over my shoulder to see what mistakes I have made in the past OR to grab the binoculars and look way out in front of me to see if I can figure out how things are going to turn out.  Both are a waste of time and energy.

I know that I can’t change the past and I can’t alter my present place in the world by dwelling on poor decisions and missed opportunities and absolute mistakes and failures. I take comfort knowing that the God who created me has yet to be surprised by anything that I have done. And He is working out ALL things to my good…

I also know that no matter how smart I may think that I am, I have no idea what God is up to today, much less in the distant future.  I can trust that He has it worked out and that He has my best interests at heart.

So where does that leave me? Right here in the present.  Where I am supposed to be.  The way I see it, I have only a couple of responsibilities in the present:

1. Love ,trust, and worship God sincerely with all my heart.

2.  Draw closer to Him each day.

I think that’s about it really.

So what does this have to do with running?

It frees me from performance.  It allows me to savor every mile as I run, knowing that God has all of the details worked out.  And not just while running, but while living.

God intended to make me a lover and worshiper of Him.  In every aspect of my life, if I will make THIS THE PRIORTY, then God will make Himself responsible for all of the outcomes.  I can stop regretting the past and worrying about the future.

I think that I can handle that.

Leave a Reply

