The Hardest Part Is Letting Go

Trust in the Lord, and do good; dwell in the land and befriend faithfulness.

Delight yourself in the Lord, and he will give you the desires of your heart.

Commit your way to the Lord; trust in him, and he will act.

Be still before the Lord and wait patiently for him.

Psalm 37:3-5,7

download

I constantly struggle to find the balance between faith and action.  How much of my life is me acting upon the desires and abilities that I have, and how much of it is God working His will in my life as a response to my faith and obedience?

I am afraid sometimes that God might not give me the things that I desire ( I find that some of them are quite self-centered and self-glorifying when I look deep inside at my motives), but I realize that I can strive and work and push my entire life and all of my efforts might not be enough to produce the things that I desire.

On the other hand, God has promised that if I will commit, and trust, and delight, the He WILL act and He will give the desires of my heart. 

I am no gambler.  I think that I will take the sure thing.

It’s time to let go.

One thought on “The Hardest Part Is Letting Go

  1. The very cool things is that God changes the desires of heart through the work of the Spirit so that we desire what he desires. I love the quote attributed to Augustine – “Love God and do whatever you want.” If you are truly loving God then what you what is want he wants.

Leave a Reply

