Are You Kidding Me?!?

So I wrote a couple of days ago about letting go of my intense focus on results and just trusting God and enjoying the ride, or the run as it may be. And I have done that.  I have a plan. I am sticking to that plan. And I have had two incredible runs the last two days.

I ran my interval plan on Tuesday, and even though it was only for 10 seconds, I was shocked when my Garmin told me that I was running at a 5:28 pace. I started running about two years ago and it took me months to be able to run a 10 minute mile.  To be pushing half that even for a short distance made me smile.

So yesterday I headed out to the Silver Comet Trail to run 5 miles.  I had no pace in mind, it was basically just base miles that I was logging.

I felt a little stiff and sore at the beginning.  I am sure that I was feeling the effects of the previous days intervals.  I kept the pace easy during the first mile, ticking it off in 9:13.  As I started to loosen up, I gradually picked up the pace.  Miles 2 and 3 I clicked off in 8:41 and 8:30.  At about the midway point of mile 4, I really started to feel loose.  I was intentionally extending my stride and not leaning forward quite so much.  It felt good so I started pushing and finished mile 4 in 8:09.

At this point, I would typically start to ease off. You know, coast in for a landing.  But my body just wouldn’t let me.  It honestly felt in places like I was just along for the ride.  I couldn’t slow down if I wanted to. It was an incredible feeling.  I was running at around a 6:45 pace for much of the mile.  I really hoped to break 7 minutes.  I never have, but alas, it wasn’t meant to be. At least not yet. I finished mile 5 in 7:13.  That is my third fastest mile ever. (and the only two miles that I ever ran faster were the first miles of the last two 5K’s that I ran)

It felt great. I ran a fast mile (for me) and didn’t faint (or die).  For me, waiting on the Lord (the first part of that verse from Isaiah) has meant that I should do what I know to do until God tells me to do something else. Wait doesn’t mean to sit and do nothing.  In this case, it means trust the plan. Enjoy yourself. Remember: you serve a God who wants to do abundantly more that you can ask or think.

I started to write a post called a Touch of Grey, because the downside of running hard yesterday is feeling sore today.  But I would rather focus on the upside. 

It’s a lot more fun.

Get started.

One thought on “Are You Kidding Me?!?

Leave a Reply

