Weekly Update

The last couple of weeks have all been about base-building.  After having the hernia repair in November, I really didn’t want to push myself too hard.  I am trusting that this will be the ONLY hernia repair that I need.  I began the year attempting to get back to running 2 or 3 times per week. Then 4 times per week.  And I am gradually adding miles back.  This will be my longest week of the year so far.  I should end somewhere around 18 depending on the way my runs today and tomorrow go.

The leg strength feels good and I don’t have any running-related pain from the surgery.  My pace has been somewhat surprising.  I am running some of my fastest times ever, and my perceived effort is not that high.  I ran 4 miles a few weeks ago at a sub-8:00 pace and I ran a 10k this week at an 8:20 pace.

I registered for the Peachtree Road Race 10K this week. It is held on July 4th in downtown Atlanta and will host about 60,000 runners this year.  My qualifying time should put me in group B or C.  This race, along with the Atlanta Marathon in October, are the two races that  am training for and setting goals for.

If you are following my virtual run to Indianapolis (goodbye Peyton) and Cleveland, you can see the map of my progress at the link below.  Currently I am just outside of Cleveland, Tennessee.

http://www.freemaptools.com/how-far-can-i-travel.htm?address=Rockmart, Ga&distance=96&accuracy=15&u=miles

Get started.

 

Leave a Reply

