Goofy Goals

Goofy Goals

Sometimes it takes more than knowing something is the right thing to do to make me do the right thing. Maybe its a character flaw. Maybe I am on the fringe.

I think that I am just honest.  I know that running is great for me. And I love to run. It helps me to process the rest of my day and plan for what is ahead. But sometimes, only sometimes, I need something more than this knowledge to force me to press ahead.

In setting my mileage goal for 2012, I needed something more than just a number.  I ran 300 miles in 2010, my entry year into my newest obsession.  I followed that up with a goal for myself to run 500 miles last year. I signed up for a half marathon and started piling up the miles. I then was diagnosed with a hernia that required surgery and put me on the sidelines for a few weeks.  I ended 2011 with over 750 miles.

In thinking about this year, it would be easy to set a goal to run 1,000 miles, but honestly, I don’t want to put the pressure on myself to try to add 250 miles to last years number. I love running and don’t want mileage counting to be a burden. Where is the fun in that?

So here is the deal. Instead of setting a mileage goal, I decided to take a trip.  Not a literal trip. I can’t exactly take the next year off to run across the country.  But if I could, where would I go and what would I do?

The choice was quickly made.  My goal this year is to run to Indianapolis to see my beloved Colts win their conference and go on to win the Super Bowl (hey, this is my goal. A guy can dream). When I leave Indianapolis, I am going to head northeast to see the Cleveland Indians win the World Series (I know, another long shot).  That’s my goal for the year.  It will be about 850 miles when I get finished. Not an overwhelming increase, but a challenge nonetheless.

I will keep you posted on my progress each week.  After my five mile run yesterday, I have ran 75 miles for the year and have gone from my home in Rockmart to just the other side of Dalton, Ga.  Yes, I’m behind. But I building my base each week and with a marathon on the calendar for October, the miles will be coming later on.

It’s kind of goofy, I know. But my inner-nerd really likes to thinks it cool to check out my progress on a map each week and see where I am and where I am going.

Get started.

Leave a Reply

