Ketchup (or Catsup)

Not sure how many times I have started blogging, only to find myself weeks later kicking myself for not doing it often enough to keep even my own attention…but I find myself in familiar territory, so here goes…

After the depression wore off and I started running again, I jumped into a 5K in Rome, Ga to test out my legs under pressure and set a new 5K PR, knocking 30 seconds off of my previous best.

I ran the half-marathon a couple of weeks ago. Even though I had run the distance once before, I was not ready for the race.  I had a goal of running 1:50 for my first ever half, and was going according to plan through about 7 or 8 miles. That’s where the hills and my lack of training combined to really slow me down. I had to slog through those last 5 or 6 miles, but I did. I ended up running in 1:57:41.  I was extremely pleased…when it was over…and look forward to running it again in the future.

I had the hernia surgery last week. The surgery went well and the doc said that everything was strictly by the book.  I am grateful that it is over and that I am beginning to feel normal again.  I have been out walking around the neighborhood the last few days and everyday feels a little bit better.  I look forward to being released to run sometime next week.

With tomorrow being Thanksgiving, I have much to look back on and be thankful for this year.  I am thankful for the desire and ability to run that God has given me, and for the family that humors me when I get out there and do the old man shuffle around the course.  I am thankful for our health and prosperity and for the love that we each feel for the other.  Although the times that we are living in make everything a little more difficult, it is great to know that we have each other.

Here’s hoping that each of you have a great holiday weekend as well.

Get Started…

Leave a Reply

